01747 858334 newelms@btconnect.com

John Bevan Snetterton 2014 winning Class D

John Bevan enjoyed a steady race to finish the year winning the Class D title. Congratulations, John! (Picture Dominic House)

This was the final round of the AR Motorsport Morgan Championship and although the overall championship had already been decided there were some close points battles going on in the other classes.

As already reported it was especially close in Class C between Tim, Sharlie and Philip!

During testing the day before, a gearbox oil leak in the New Elms Morgan Plus 8 caused serious concern but after some stirling efforts by Darren, the car was ready again to race.

Rain was promised but a dry qualifying session saw Tim take pole position for the class.

It was going to be a rolling start for the race, and by that time the rain had come and the track proved very slippery and challenging.

Sure enough, there were several incidents on Lap 1 which brought out the safety car for several laps. Tim moved up several positions on the opening lap, and was in a perfect postion to take the Class win and all that meant for the championship results.

Then, on lap 8 Tim’s gearbox jammed in 4th. After slowing and being passed by several drivers he managed to find 3rd gear, but then the box jammed again!

This sadly meant retirement and no points.

Philip Tisdall went on to win the Class and set fastest lap as the track dried, thereby clinching the Class win for the season. Well done, Philip!